Valencia Capital Animal

Recently I went to see this exhibition about animals, you might be thinking “awww animals paintings” “cute cat picture” “*hashtag*cuteness overload”. Wrong guess, apologies.

The exhibition was hosted by many animal protection organizations based in Valencia, Spain, their aim is to gain awareness of animal abuse and to promote veganism. I myself had never thought of going vegan, nor vegetarian, its pretty impossible(for me), to give up all the great dishes, and giving up ALL animal products, not only food, veganism is a lifestyle, literally no animal products AT ALL, from food to fashion. That’s dedication, which I think that’s what I lack(I must admit).

Lets talk about the exhibition, it begins with this huge space with cute animal arts hanging on every inch of the wall, a big photo of this adorable sad-faced dog just like mines (my pup has been practicing that look for years), and many other poser dog pictures as well as other animals like cats, baby sheep, monkeys….etc. Everything adorable.

As I walked into the second part of the showroom, cute cartoon animal drawings with some seats and books about animals, nature, vegan life… I sat down and started reading, briefly, because they are all in Spanish(and I was lazy), I gave up on the novels and started reading the kids books, all of them have very pretty book arts, very easy to read and understand until it got depressing, one of the books I was reading is about how animals are treated and how their life use to be before humans got involved, in art form. Long story short, either they lost their freedom, being killed or chopped into pieces and being served on our dining table. YEP, a kids book.

And it doesn’t stop there(woohoo), that was just an introduction to the topic, so there are six rooms in total, I took a deep breath and started the tour. Room number one: bullfighting, there’s this introduction about we should put a full stop to this tradition and there were drawing of bulls bleeding, human in the bulls place dying, bull horns  on fire…. Which reminded me of this incident(its on YouTube I think) where people lighted fireworks on this bull’s horns and it died from suicide, the whole thing was just wrong, don’t they realise how smart they are to have killed themselves? throughout the animal history, they would do anything to survive, isn’t it our fault to causing this false evolution to the animals? (This shit is getting deep)

Room number two, room full of comic strips, CUTE! Not. As I look closely, every one of them is about dogs or cat (or both) being abandon, crying and dying. It hit me so hard cause I have two pups(wish they know how lucky they are, sigh). One of the strip shows this mean owner driving away from the city to abandon his dog, he then left the dog by the road, and as he was returning home, he got into an accident and died, after that he was climbing the stairs to heaven(he should go to hell, in my opinion), then somehow his dog died too and in the clouds of heaven it managed to find his shit owner, that’s how loyal dogs are and I totally agree, actually I’m not so sure since every time my pups meet my friends they ignore me….such traders.

Room number three: the slaughter-house. They had pictures of the “farms”, they even managed to have a picture of a dog meat supply(that’s one of the reasons why I don’t have the desire to visit china), another with a lamb being shot in the head with I have no idea what that ‘gun’ is called. It was dramatizing, they have this virtual experience which I was advised not to try, I took it due to the fear I might be miserable for the rest of the year, I was told that it’s the vision of the animal being trapped and caged and when its time, this guy forcing it on this truck to the slaughter-house and you know what is going to happen. How depressing. By that time I was fully traumatized, depressed, three more rooms left, they weren’t as graphics, one was about circus animals, another was sea life and the final one room was about animal shelter and their system.

Thoughts:

I think this exhibition needs to be seen in every place of the world, every human should have the knowledge of how many other species were killed to satisfy us. We are all blinded by the cover, and people refused to review the dark, ugly truth, we have done plenty of damage to this world; we are the smartest among all living things, we talk about humanity but what I have observed was the lack of empathy and I believe we are the cancer of the earth, and we are killing it slowly.

http://valenciacapitalanimal.org/

 

-Z

Leave a comment